MATCH REPORT: South Australia State Titles at Murray Bridge

Sunday 7th May saw Murray Bridge Cycle Speedway host the annual South Australian Open Championship (State Titles). With over 100 nominations from all four tracks made out for a fantastic day.

A big day ahead for all 14 contenders competing in the open men’s grade all fighting for that number one position. Daniel Robb, was untouchable all day taking out all 4 of his heat wins allowing for prime position in the final. Other top contenders in the open men’s grade were Daniel Pudney, Bobby McMillan, Matty Snowden, Braylan McDonald and Cody Chadwick. But the 4 to make the final were Daniel Robb, Daniel Pudney, Bobby McMillan and Matty Snowden. But in the end after a fantastic race the men’s state championship for 2023 went to Daniel Robb, followed by Daniel Pudney for 2nd place, Bobby McMillan for 3rd place dropping his title from last year and in 4th Matty Snowden.

The women’s grade saw 10 contenders all trying to get that number one position. Holly Greenhalgh and Lucy Millikin took out all 4 of their heat wins, not versing each other until the final. Followed by Kayleigh Clarke who was also a very hot contender all day. The final saw Lucy Millikin off grid one after winning a coin toss followed by Holly Greenhalgh on grid 2, Kayleigh Clarke on grid 3 and after a 3 way run off for the last spot in the final was Talia Mackinlay. In the end Kayleigh Clarke took the win, Talia Mackinlay placed 2nd and after a nasty crash on the last lap out in front saw Holly Greenhalgh take home 3rd and Lucy Millikin take home 4th.