MATCH REPORT: Yorkshire League Round 3

Sheffield Stars won round 3 of the Yorkshire League at a dry, dusty Cookson track to go top of the table at the halfway stage of the season.
Sheffield were able to track Ed Morton and Dariusz Pilas to strengthen the line up. Unfortunately both Heckmondwike and Hull were missing their top riders. Sheffield scored 7-3 heat wins in each race against Heckmondwike, Laura Watson completed a three ride maximum from the reserve berth. Hull’s Jack Lister was unbeaten in the team races, preventing any further Sheffield riders from getting a maximum score. Hull youngsters Noah Lyon and Liam Bennett both won twice as their improvement continues.
Entering the individual races Sheffield led on 51, with Hull 42 and Heckmondwike 27. Sheffield, as leaders, were on grid 4s but won the first three races, through Jack Brownell, Kielan Burton and Ed Morton. Jack Lister won the final race, the top scorers race, from Dariusz Pilas to complete a brilliant unbeaten match.

Final scores and scorers.

Sheffield (66) – Ed Morton 13+2, Dariusz Pilas 16+2, Kielan Burton 13+2, Jack Brownell 12+1, Laura Watson 12.
Heckmondwike Saints (35) – Darren Kent 11, Stuart Hardaker 6, Patrick Beacock 8+1, Justin Naylor 8, Lee Warhurst 2.
Hull (55) – Jack Lister 18+2, Liam Bennett 13, Richard Gibson 9, Noah Lyon 15, Spencer Glenton DNR.

Referee – Niall Morton

League table after 3 rounds

Points Race points
1. Sheffield 7.5 176
2. Hull 7.5 166
3. Heckmondwike 3 124

Round 4 is at Heckmondwike on 13th August.

Next up was the Junior GP series. Thirteen riders lined up to compete using the ladder format. Twelve riders won at least one race during the qualifying races, which saw lots of passing despite the dusty conditions. Sheffield’s three riders Oliver Banyard, Eddie Owalabi-Oshea and debutant Iris Mace each won twice as did Harry Gibson (Hull) and Joseph Green (Heckmondwike).
The finals saw Jayden Hancock (Bury) win for the third successive round, a win in the next round will see him lift the title (the series of six rounds is decided by a riders top four scores).
Jayden Bennett (Hull) won the under 10s with Iris Mace (Sheffield) winning the under 8s, each round has now had a different winner.


Under 8

1st Iris Mace (Sheffield), 2nd Alexis Woodcock (Hull).

Under 10

1st Jayden Bennett (Hull), 2nd Eddie Owalabi-Oshea (Sheffield), 3rd Polly Gowans (Hull).

Under 13

A Final – 1st Jayden Hancock (Bury), 2nd Oliver Banyard (Sheffield), 3rd Spencer Glenton (Hull), 4th Harvey Mclachlan (Hull)
B Final – 1st Harry Gibson (Hull), 2nd Joseph Green (Heckmondwike), 3rd Elliott Long (Heckmondwike), 4th Will Hollich (Hull)

Referee – Kyle Holland.

The final event was the senior GP series, again using the ladder format. An excellent number of 23 riders lined up, with eighteen winning at least one qualifying race. Stuart Hardaker was the tops, managing a hat trick of race wins. Jack Brownell, Patrick Beacock, Dariusz Pilas and Laura Watson each won two races. Mick Knowles returned to racing for the first time in five years, winning his first race. As with the juniors there was plenty of passing, despite the dry and dusty conditions. Noah Lyon, Laura Watson, Dariusz Pilas, Darren Kent and Ed Morton went on to complete victories in the finals. Darren Kent is one win from claiming the Vet 55+ title for the second season.


Under 18 – 1st Noah Lyon (Hull), 2nd Liam Bennett (Hull), 3rd Joe Brownell (Sheffield) Jack Brownell (Sheffield).

Women – 1st Laura Watson (Sheffield), 2nd Kacey Bennett (Hull).

Vet 55+ – 1st Darren Kent (Heckmondwike), 2nd Patrick Beacock (Heckmondwike), 3rd Stuart Hardaker (Heckmondwike), 4th Rob Mawhood (Sheffield).

Vet 40-54 A final – 1st Dariusz Pilas (Sheffield), 2nd – Wil Banyard (Sheffield), 3rd Richard Gibson (Hull), 4th Mick Knowles (Heckmondwike).
Vet 40-54 B Final – 1st Justin Naylor (Heckmondwike), 2nd Lee Warhurst (Heckmondwike).

Senior/Open A Final – 1st Ed Morton (Sheffield), 2nd Jack Lister (Hull), 3rd Kyle Holland (Sheffield), 4th Kielan Burton (Sheffield).
Senior/Open B Final – 1st Kieran Hale (Sheffield), 2nd Ryan Tompkinson (Hull), 3rd Rob Mace (Sheffield).

Referee – Chris Bingham.