CLUB NEWS: Coventry host awards evening

Coventry Sabres hosted their annual awards evening on Saturday 1st December. The club has struggled to maintain a senior riding presence even at regional level this year, however boasts one of the most thriving junior sections in the sport. The season closed with a halloween special clubnight with over 30 riders attending, most of which made it to the photo.

It has very much been a season of consolidation competitively with only Jude Wilcockson and Yoanna Gilpin making an impact at national level. The club looks forward to next year with 3 newly qualified activity coaches in Adi Smith, Jack Reynolds and Matt Wilcockson in addition to Myke Grimes, with the hope of the opportunity for more recruitment and informal racing as a result.

Major awards:

Dan Drewett – Senior Rider of the Year

Jude Wilcockson Junior Rider of the Year

Tommy Anderson – Coaches award (Male)

Yoanna Gilpin – Coaches award (Female)

Ethan Hobbs – Most improved rider

Matt Wilcockson – Chairman’s award (Club Contribution)

Julia Ingram – Mark Taylor Memorial Cup

Further awards

Autumn Smith- Phantom arm / invisible contact award

Dougie Grimes – Best halloween costume

Nancy Grimes- Best listener

Ruben Grimes – Most determined

Charlie Smith – Box game champion

Ben Pinfold – Lightning gater award

Emran Gharfour – Fastest dinners

Charlie Smith / Autumn Smith (No relation) best flirting

Bella Reynolds – Cleanest bike

Ollie and Martha – Most coachable

Rosie Derry – Best beret

Rocco Fitzgerald- Spinniest legs

Carson East – Most supportive

Callum Symanski – Most consistent

Tom Savage – Best crash

Chester Gilpin – Most overtakes of a family member

Marc Gilpin – Bike tig champion

Jack Reynolds- Least attendance at training. Honorable mention: Dan Smith

Marc, Chester and Yoanna Gilpin – Family award