MATCH REPORT: Poole v Newport (S&SW League)

Report by Graham Robins

On a cold and chilly afternoon down at Harbourside the Poole Comets overcame a tough challenge from Newport finally winning by 154-93.

The new format of racing this season includes races for seniors and a category for juniors, female of any age and vets together.

The home team fielded a strong group across both race formats whilst Newport travelled with a strong squad of home-grown talent.

In the first heat Mark Carmichael took the win with Comets captain Will Bristowe in second. With honours even racing continued with Poole fighting back taking two wins back to back and a lead of six points (18-12) going into the first heat of juniors.

The young Comets then rattled in three wins with Newport taking three second places to leave the progressive score after six heats Poole 37 Newport 23.

The next round of seniors saw Newport coming back with a win and Poole coming in second a third before another Poole one two. This was quickly followed by the juniors adding a double first and second to leave the score at half time Poole 61 Newport 39.

After the break once again Newport won the heat but Poole mopped up more points taking second and third. Poole took a wins in heat 13 and 14 before the juniors fired in three wins to leave the progressive score Poole 97 Newport 62.

With both seniors and juniors adding four more straight wins Poole led into the five rounds of nominated rider’s races by123-75. Poole continued to score well by winning each of the nominated races and finished the meeting winning 154-93.

The Poole captain Will Bristowe said “it was nice to be back home and kick off the south west league campaign with a strong win! The great racing from our returning riders was key to the win today”

Top scoring for Poole today was Ben Mould with four unbeaten rides and in the juniors category it was Josh Nottle with 13 points. Mark Carmichael was the top point’s scorer for Newport with 16.


Seniors – Wil Bristowe 14 Kyran Yeatman 11 Ben Mould 16 Fraser Garnett 13 Jay Briggs 12 Aaron Smith 11
Juniors – Jasmine Oddie 12 Maddie Saunders 10 Josh Nottle 13 Kenzie Bennett 11
Reserves – Ben Donohue 9 Nathan Goulden 7 Macie Schmidt 8 Natalie Goulden 7


Seniors – Mark Carmichael 16 Callum Goward 9 Chris Davies 9 Dan Bock 4 Joe Lewis 9 John Brosnan 4
Juniors – Sam Marsh 9 Ben Truscott 7 Kian May 13 Toby May 8

Reserves – Jim Collier 5

Referee – John Carry