MATCH REPORT: 45 do battle in the Manchester League

Astley & Tyldesley hosted Round 1 of the Manchester League Grand Prix series at Gin Pit on Wednesday. There was a tremendous turnout of 45 riders, which resulted in 53 races being completed, in 2 hours 20 minutes. The inclusion of Heckmondwike riders boosted the number of teams competing to five.

Remarkably, three riders raced unbeaten in the u-10s match, the draw keeping them apart from racing against each other. A&T’s Charlie Dickinson continued his improved form this season to bag his first ever maximum score, along with team mate John White and Sheffield’s Jack Brownell. The u-13s match resulted in A&T’s Max Evans and Tom Whitwam, now in Sheffield’s colours, both racing unbeaten. Stockport’s Louis Wright lost only to Evans in heat 9.

The u-16s and u-19s raced a combined match, with scores subsequently adjusted. Stockport’s Jake Read and Sheffield’s Adam Watson dropped one point each in the u-19 and u-16 categories respectively. Ciaran Collins won his first race in the u-16s match, but pulled out with injury after a first bend fall in his next ride. Defending Manchester League Division 2 champions Astley & Tyldesley got off to a convincing win in the team competition, with Sheffield second.

Manchester League Division 2 result (top 5 scorers only count to their team’s total)

Astley & Tyldesley 75 Sheffield 59 Bury 41 Stockport 40 Heckmondwike 20

U-10s: John White (A&T) 16, Charlie Dickinson (A&T) 16, Jack Brownell (Sheffield) 16, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 13, Luke Hill (A&T) 12, Joe Brownell (Sheffield) 12, Jack Murray (A&T) 10, Ryan Fallon (A&T) 10, Jack Littler (A&T) 10, Tom Deakin (Bury) 8, Duncan Whalley (Bury) 8, Angel Etheridge (Bury) 7, Kaci Neath (Bury) 6, Lucy Grantham (A&T) 5, Hermoine Whalley (Bury) 5, Caillen Langlands (A&T) 5.

U-13s: Tom Whitwam (Sheffield) 16, Max Evans (A&T) 16, Louis Wright (Stockport) 15, Declan Summersgill (Heckmondwike) 12, Ben Dickinson (A&T) 10, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 10, Emily Burgess (A&T) 10, Josh Neath (Bury) 8, Ben Summersgill (Heckmondwike) 8, Daniel Miller (Bury) 6, Sean Etheridge (Bury) 4, Kieran Fallon (A&T) 4.

U-16s: Adam Watson (Sheffield) 15, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 4.

U-19s: Jake Read (Stockport) 15, Reece Pollitt (A&T) 14, Robyn Whalley (Bury) 10.

Referee – Mike Hack

Stockport’s Ben Higham top scored in the Division 1 (senior) match, losing only to Bury’s Ben Scranage in heat 13. His Stockport team mates Mat Lush, Jake Read and Terry Norman all weighed in with 14 points apiece. Defending Division 1 champions Stockport took the win, with Astley & Tyldesley edging out Bury for second place on the night.

Manchester League Division 1 result (top 5 scorers only count to their team’s total)

Stockport 67 Astley & Tyldesley 48 Bury 45 Sheffield 8

Seniors: Ben Higham (Stockport) 15, Mat Lush (Stockport) 14, Jake Read (Stockport) 14, Terry Norman (Stockport) 14, Reece Pollitt (A&T) 13, Chris Parish (Bury) 13, James Elston (Bury) 12, Ben Scranage (Bury) 11, Mark Mulvey (A&T) 11, Chris Eaton (Stockport) 10, Kristian Ramsden (Bury) 9, Gareth Paine (A&T) 9, Max Evans (A&T) 8, Adam Watson (Sheffield) 8, Mark Grantham (A&T) 7, Jon Quarmby (A&T) 6, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 2.

Referee – Mike Hack

Cover photo by Linda Kirkland.