MATCH REPORT: Hawks win while new London riders offer ray of light

Hethersett Hawks/Myhill Decorators brought the curtain down on their celebratory Gold Jubilee season with a double home victory over East London.

It was good to see the Londoners, who have struggled in recent seasons, make the long trip up to Norfolk with some new young recruits in their full squad of eight.

Hethersett had leading riders missing but did welcome back Dan Chambers after injury. They gave a full first-team run to Owen Wells and he rose to the occasion to top the scorers. Roger Carter made a welcome return and was unlucky to fall twice challenging opponents.

East London team v Hethersett

East London team v Hethersett

It was an even start until Lee Smith tucked in behind Wells in heat 5 but any advantage was quickly wiped out as experienced Nicky Gunkel and Dave Hughes out-thought Harley Hamill after an exclusion.

A five point lead was restored by a Wells / Josh Herring 7-3 just before the interval and the Hawks went on to win six of the eight second-half races to record a comfortable win.

Owen Wells 16+1 (5) Lee Smith 14+1 (4) Josh Herring 13+2 (4) Roger Carter 13 (5) Dan Chambers 11+1 (3) Dan Butler 9+1 (4) Har;ey Hamill 9+1 (3) Lee Hulcoop 6+1 (4)

Richard Austen 17 (5) Max Renna 14 (6) Nicky Gunkel 12+1 (5) Dave Hughes 7+1 (3) Kevin Smith 6+1 (4) Harry Austen 5 (3) Sid Stanley 3 (3) Harry Corsan 3 (3)

Referee – Kevin Wells

The second victory came in the Division Two match and the victory sealed runners-up spot for the Hawks. Both sides had some inexperienced riders and it led to an entertaining match. Wells was again in good form for a maximum and veteran Glyn Morgan was also unbeaten. Star turn was Daniel Longlands with a couple of rousing rides.

Again it was close until half-time but a couple of 7-3 wins and no heat defeats after that saw the Hawks home.

Owen Wells 16 (4) Glyn Morgan 15+1 (4) Daniel Longlands 12+1 (5) Nigel Longlands 9+2 (4) Katie Adams 7+2 (3) Olivia Nicholas 7+1 (3) Harley Hamill 4 (1) Dan Butler 4 (1) Lee Hulcoop 3+1 (1)

Max Renna 15 (5) Dave Hughes 13 (4) Kevin Smith 10 (4) Sid Stanley 6+1 (4) Harry Austen 5 (5) Harry Corsan 4 (4)

Referee – Lee Smith

Hethersett are runners-up.

The season was rounded off by the Hethersett Open Club Championship which was retained by Dan Chambers with Harley Hamill and Owen Wells making up the podium. Glyn Morgan defeated Nigel Longlands to win the Veterans Championship.


Dan Chambers 16 Harley hamill 15 Owen Wells 14 Glyn Morgan 13 (Vets 1st) Nigel Longlands 12 (Vets 2nd) Daniel Longlands 11 Olivia Nicholas 10 George Larter-Dixon 9 Giles Awbery 8 Duncan McPhee 7 Paul Delaiche 6 Chardonnay McPhee 5 Jamie Baggelay 4

Referee – Lee Smith