CLUB NEWS: Bock wins top prize at Newport presentation evening

Newport Cycle Speedway Club held their annual awards ceremony at Llanwern Golf Club, the evening was well attended, and 105 trophies were presented with former rider, James Turner, master of ceremonies for the night.

The club has had probably their most successfull year ever, winning the South West and Wales division 1 for the 5th consecutive time. They also won the British Open Club Championships, and finished second in the CS Cup Playoffs. The club’s juniors finished in the bronze position in their region.

The annual club winners were, Rider of the year, Dan Bock and Most improved rider, Cody James. A special lifetime presidency award was given to Colin Simmons for over 40 years service to the club.

Other awards on the night was to club coaches Dale Clark and Nick Evans from the clubs juniors and to the many club helpers.

Club treasurer, Dale Clark, thanked the club’s sponsor and all the parents and volunteers, while the club chairman also gave thanks for such a successful and memorable year, before outlining details of the club’s future vision.