MATCH REPORT: BYJL South & South Wales Regional Round 2

There was a very impressive turn out at East Newport Cycle Speedway club for round 2 of this year’s South West and Wales British Youth and Junior League event. A total of 78 riders made the journey to the short technical Welsh track.

After some over night rain they were left with perfect track conditions, a cloudy day with a threat of rain, but it held off and they witnessed some superb racing throughout.

Little league


Jack Tidball and Teddy Curtis both gave standout performances. After not meeting in the heats and both on 16 point maximums going into the finals, something had to give. It was Jack who crossed the line first to take another A final win back to Exeter.

A final
1st Jack Tidball (Exeter), 2nd Teddy Curtis (Poole), 3rd Logan Beard (Newport) 4th Tyler Davies (Newport).

B final
1st Harley Pugh (Newport), 2nd Jake Collins (Southampton), 3rd Olly Clark (Newport), 4th Harvey j Fanner (Poole).


Scott Rowles took a 16 point max from the heats, ahead of Poole team mates Nat Goulden and Max Parry, both on 15. It was a Poole 1, 2, 3 for the A final, along with Horspath’s Tyler Seabright, with Nat Goulden taking the win.

A final
1st Nat Goulden (Poole), 2nd Scott Rowles (Poole), 3rd Max Parry (Poole), 4th Tyler Seabright (Horspath)

In the B final, East Newport’s little pocket rocket Tia Brain took the win in a super final, just managing to hold off Poole’s Bobby Baker.

1st Tia Brain (East Newport), 2nd Bobby Baker (Poole), 3rd Kieran Legg (Horspath), 4th Emma Johnson (Horspath).


There was a full 20 rider program for this popular age group, with both A & B finals being dominated by Exeter & Poole riders.

The A final was full of the sport’s future stars, and took more than one attempt, after a nasty collision on the third corner resulting in an exclusion for Joe Hurran.

A final
1st JJ Wildman (Exeter), 2nd Mackenzie Laing (Exeter), 3rd Ollie Saunders (Poole) 4th Joe Hurran (Poole)(Exc).

B final
1st Shannon Tucker (Exeter),2nd Daisy Sherwood (Poole), 3rd Gethin Powell (Poole), 4th Lexie Curtis (Poole).


No surprises here with Poole’s Nathan Goulden riding to a 16 point max and taking the A-final win.

A final
1st Nathan Goulden (Poole), 2nd Josh Nottle (Poole), 3rd Jack Horton (Exeter), 4th Nathan Loveridge (Horspath).

B final
1st Feroze Langoo (Poole), 2nd Finlay Webb (Exeter), 3rd Jamie Brown (Horspath), 4th Jacob Howe (Exeter).


Eleven riders contested the ever-growing girls category, again with no surprises with the overall winner being British Champion, Macie Schmidt.

A final
1st Macie Schmidt (Poole), 2nd Rosie Tidball (Exeter), 3rd Maddie Saunders (Poole), 4th Anna Tuttle (Poole).

B final
1st Miah Laing (Exeter), 2nd Mya Castagna (East Newport), 3rd Leah Horton (Exeter), 4th Caitlyn Walters (East Newport)


Leading points scorer in the heats was Jack Ellis with 15 points, however it was a tough A final with Fraser Garnett, Sean Bennett and Ben Tinsdale lining up along side him. Tinsdale on grid 1 Bennett 2, Garnett 3 and Ellis on 4.

Crowd favourite Fraser Garnett was out of contention after taking a tumble in an attempt to gain position, this allowed team mate Ben to take the win.

A final
1st Ben Tinsdale (Poole), 2nd jack Ellis (Horspath), 3rd Sean Bennett (Newport), 4th Fraser Garnett (Poole).

B final
1st Taylor Walters (East Newport), 2nd Owen Johnson (Horspath), 3rd Dan Wright (East Newport), 4th Ross Loveridge (Horspath)