MATCH REPORT: Northern 4’s League Round 4

Astley & Tyldesley hosted the final match of the 2018 season, Round 4 of the Northern Fours League and Grands Prix series, on Sunday. The track was wet early on, after overnight and morning rain, but the sun came out and riders enjoyed racing on a grippy track. A minute’s silence was held to commemorate Remembrance Sunday, prior to the first race of the day.

In the Fours League Group A match, Bury started the day one point ahead of Stockport, to contest overall first place in the series. However, it was Northumbria, promoted from last week’s Group B match, who took the lead, winning three of the opening four races. Stockport did likewise, in the next round of heats, to take a commanding 7 points lead over Northumbria at the half way stage, with Bury a point adrift and Hull a further point behind. Bury and Northumbria closed the gap on the leaders, to make the scores after 12 heats: Stockport 33 Northumbria 30 Bury 30 Hull 24. Bury’s chances of the win
disappeared after Kaysar Mohammadi was excluded after clashing with Northumbria’s Gavin Parr in heat 14. Parr won the re-run, but Stockport won the last two heats, to win the match on 48 points, with Northumbria second on 41 and Bury third on 35. Stockport, therefore overhauled Bury, to win the series by a single match point!

Northern Fours League Round 4 Group A match
Stockport 48 Northumbria 41 Bury 35 Hull 32
Northumbria: Gavin Parr 15, Jason Keith 11, Terry Kirkup 8, Shane Gray 7.
Bury: Will Owens 9, Danny Taylor 8, Adam Turnbull 7, Kaysar Mohammadi 6, Adam Taylor 5.
Hull: Nathan Everett 10, Josh Bellis 9, Jack Lister 7, Dan Teal 6.
Stockport: Ben Higham 13, Jake Read 12, Devon Campbell 10, Daniel Mason 7, Louis Wright 6.

The Group B match was another closely contested match. Three 7-3 heat wins early on decided the outcome, with the last seven of the twelve heats all shared.
Astley & Tyldesley opened with two 7-3 heat wins, but were unable to seal the match until the last heat, drawing their remaining six races. Pawel Idziorek
raced unbeaten for A&T.

Northern Fours League Round 4 Group B match
Astley & Tyldesley 44 Sheffield 40 Heckmondwike 36
A&T: Pawel Idziorek 15 (1), Kyle Holland 15, Ciaran Collins 7 (2), Mick Knowles 6, Mark Grantham 1.
Heckmondwike: Darren Kent 12 (1), Lewis Foxley 8 (1), Frank Auffret 6 (1), Thomas Kent 6 (1), Justin Naylor 4 (1).
Sheffield: Adam Watson 13 (2), Kielan Burton 11 (1), James Morris 9, Laura Watson 7 (1).
Referee – Neil Howarth.

Final Northern Fours League standings
Stockport 24, Bury 23, Astley & Tyldesley 21.5, Northumbria 16, Hull 15.5, Sheffield 7, Heckmondwike 5.

Astley & Tyldesley took a fourth convincing series win in the Northern Junior League match (scores from all individual grands prix, except the Division 1 category), to retain the title won last year.

A&T’s Duncan Whalley again raced unbeaten in the u-10s match, but the 15 points scored by Bury’s Tom Dunphy was sufficient to win the overall u-10 GP series. Sheffield’s James Morris scored maximum points in the u-13s match, as Stockport’s Ewan Ferreira sealed the u-13 GP series. Bury’s Kaysar Mohammadi again top scored in the u-16s category, on 13 points, to take the overall u-16 GP title.

No u-19 riders took part on the day, so Bury’s Eryk Motala was the overall series winner. Heckmondwike’s Darren Kent raced to his second successive maximum score in the Divison 2 match, with A&T’s Mick Knowles a comfortable overall GP series winner. A&T’s Emily Burgess raced to a 16 points maximum in the Women’s match, to secure the overall Women’s GP title. A&T’s Pawel Idziorek top scored with 15 points in the Division 1 match, and clinched the overall GP series victory. Unfortunately, no GP trophies were available for presentation to the winners on the day.

Northern Individual Grand Prix results

u-10s: Duncan Whalley (A&T) 16, Tom Dunphy (Bury) 15, Aiden Green (A&T) 14, Lewis Skitterall (A&T) 13, Tom Beeley (A&T) 13, Levi Edwards (A&T) 12, Tyler Mills (Hull) 11, Sam Dunphy (Bury) 11, Noah Lyon (Hull) 10, Freddy Warn (A&T) 9, Ali Ashraf (A&T) 8, Logan Stubbs (Hull) 7, Bobby Dunphy (Bury) 6, Sofian Ashraf (A&T) 4.

u-13s: James Morris (Sheffield) 16, James Foxley (Edinburgh) 15, Ewan Ferreira (Stockport) 13, Thom Deakin (Bury) 10, Chloe Warn (A&T) 8, Bella Naylor
(Heckmondwike) 8.

u-16s: Kaysar Mohammadi (Bury) 13, Kielan Burton (Sheffield) 10, Lewis Foxley (Heckmondwike) 9, Daniel Mason (Stockport) 8.

Division 2: Darren Kent (Heckmondwike) 16, Dan Teal (Hull) 14, Thomas Kent (Heckmondwike) 11, Mark Grantham (A&T) 11, Justin Naylor (Heckmondwike) 8,
Frank Auffret (Heckmondwike) 8, Mick Knowles (A&T) 7.

Women: Emily Burgess (A&T) 16, Laura Watson (Sheffield) 12, Regan Stubbs (Hull) 8.

Division 1: Pawel Idziorek (A&T) 15, Adam Watson (Sheffield) 13, Neil Howarth (Bury) 7, Kyle Holland (A&T) 5.

Referees – Kyle Holland and Chaz Whalley.

Northern Junior League Match result:

Astley & Tyldesley 131 Heckmondwike 60 Bury 55 Hull 50 Sheffield 38 Stockport 21 Edinburgh 15.

Final Northern Junior League standings

Astley & Tyldesley 25, Bury 19, Hull 15, Heckmondwike 15, Sheffield 10, Stockport 9, Edinburgh 5.

Individual Grand Prix winners:

U-10: Tom Dunphy (Bury) 58
U-13: Ewan Ferreira (Stockport) 53
U-16: Kaysar Mohammadi (Bury) 56
U-19: Eryk Motala (Bury) 46
Div. 2: Mick Knowles (Astley & Tyldesley) 53
Women: Emily Burgess (Astley & Tyldesley) 61
Div. 1: Pawel Idziorek (Astley & Tyldesley) 61.

Astley & Tyldesley club members rounded off the racing season with a bonfire and fireworks display, supplemented by a hot pot supper and drinks from the bar