MATCH REPORT: Hull victorious in Northern Fours

Astley & Tyldesley hosted the third and final round of this year’s truncated Northern Fours & Junior League series.

All three teams started the Fours League on the same number of match points and the match proved to be another close encounter, which ebbed and flowed throughout.

After two drawn heats, A&T took first blood with a 6-4 to the Ciaran Collins/ Max Evans pairing over Hull’s Nathan Everett/ David Cooper pairing. Hull banged in a 7-3 from Josh Bellis/Andy Angell over Bury’s Danny Taylor and Adam Taylor in heat 5.

At the halfway stage, A&T and Hull were level on 21 points, with Bury on 18. A&T moved ahead in the next race with a 6-4 to Collins and Mick Knowles over Bury’s Kaysar Mohammadi, with Adam Turnbull a faller.

A&T had the chance to extend their lead when they held a 6-4 in heat 10, but the Taylor brothers relegated Evans to the back, as Collins took another win. Bury’s Mohammadi/ Turnbull pairing scored a 6-4 over Hull’s Cooper/ Everett duo in heat 11. This meant that the match and the league title went to a last heat decider.

A&T held a 2 points advantage over Hull, but the Humbersiders went off the inside grids. Bellis sped away from gate 1 to inflict Collins’ only defeat of the match, with Angell third after keeping Knowles at the back.

Hull’s 6-4 heat win saw them draw the match with A&T, but it was sufficient to take the title, as they had started the day with a superior race points¬†advantage over A&T. Bury, who had started the day as joint leaders, finished 3rd, both on the day and overall, a mere 3 points behind.¬†If ever there was a match where fine margins determine the outcome and every point counts, then this was the one.

A&T 41
Ciaran Collins 15, Max Evans 10, Kyle Holland 7 (3), Mark Grantham 6, Mick Knowles 3.

Hull 41
Andy Angell 13 (1), David Cooper 10, Josh Bellis 10, Nathan Everett 8 (2).

Bury 38
Adam Taylor 12, Kaysar Mohammadi 11, Adam Turnbull 9 (1), Danny Taylor 6 (1).

Referee – Graham Lush (Stockport).

The Junior League match was in complete contrast, as league leaders Astley & Tyldesley raced to a massive win, to win the title for the first time since 2002.

The five Individual Grand Prix titles were also up for grabs. In the U10s match, A&T’s first year rider Tom Morrissey raced to a 16 points maximum score, to clinch the series, three points ahead of club mate Duncan Whalley.

A&T’s Emily Burgess raced to her second 16 points maximum of the series, but Sheffield’s Kielan Burton scored 13 points to take the overall series win. A&T’s Max Evans scored a 16 points maximum in the u-16s category. Bury’s Adam Turnbull sat out the match, as his two previous 16 point maximums had secured the series win.

The u-19 and Division 2 matches were combined. Hull’s Nathan Everett secured the overall u-19 series, with A&T’s Mark Grantham winning the Division 2 series, ahead of club mate Mark Brundrett.

Northern Junior League match result
Astley & Tyldesley 176 Stockport 37 Edinburgh 20 Bury 16 Hull 16 Sheffield 13

U-10s: Tom Morrissey (A&T) 16, Fraser Brundrett (A&T) 14, Aiden Green (A&T) 14, Duncan Whalley (A&T) 14, Kaci Neath (Bury) 12, Daniel Johnson (A&T) 10,
Tom Beeley (A&T) 9, Lucy Grantham (A&T) 9, Freddie Cox (A&T) 8, Lewis Skitterall (A&T) 6.
U-13s: Emily Burgess (A&T) 16, Kielan Burton (Sheffield) 13, James Foxley (Edinburgh) 9, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 8, Thom Deakin (Bury) 4.
U-16s: Max Evans (A&T) 16, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 13, Louis Wright (Stockport) 12, Michael Preston (Stockport) 12, Lewis Foxley (Edinburgh) 11,
Ben Forshaw (A&T) 8.
U-19s: Nathan Everett (Hull) 16.
Division 2: Mark Grantham (A&T) 16, Mark Brundrett (A&T) 12.

Referee – Chas Whalley (Astley & Tyldesley).

Northern Fours League final standings
Hull 6.5 pts (134 rp); Astley & Tyldesley 6.5 (116); Bury 5 (131).

Northern Junior League final standings
Astley & Tyldesley 13 pts (422 rp); Hull 7.5 (140); Bury 7.5 (117); Stockport 5 (37); Sheffield 4 (41); Edinburgh 4 (20).

Grand Prix series winners
U-10s: Tom Morrissey (A&T); U-13s: Kielan Burton (Sheffield); U-16s: Adam Turnbull (Bury); U-19s: Nathan Everett (Hull); Division 2: Mark Grantham (A&T).

Congratulations to all the team and individual series winners!