MATCH REPORT: Manchester League GP Round 6

Bury hosted the 6th and final round of the Manchester League Grand Prix series on a warm and dry Wednesday evening. Once again this summer, track conditions were dry and slippery.

Astley & Tyldesley took a convincing win in the Division 2 (youth and juniors match), to make it six wins out of six this year, to win the division for the fifth year running. A&T’s Aiden Green raced to a maximum score in the u-10s match, whilst the 14 points scored by his team mate Duncan Whalley was sufficient to clinch the u-10 Grand Prix series win. Bury’s Harry Radford raced to a 16 points maximum in the u-13s category. However, A&T’s Tom Morrissey scored 11 points to secure the u-13 Grand Prix series win. Stockport’s Michael Preston raced to a 16 points maximum in the u-16 match, clinching the u-16 Grand Prix series win in the process. A&T’s Ciaran Collins had already secured the u-19 Grand Prix series win and his 16 points score on the night extended his winning margin.

Manchester League Division 2 result (top 5 scorers only count to team totals)
Astley & Tyldesley 73 Stockport 55 Bury 52
U-10s: Aiden Green (A&T) 16, Duncan Whalley (A&T) 14, Lewis Skitterall (A&T) 12, Myles Bedingfield (A&T) 10, Tom Dunphy (Bury) 10, Sam Dunphy (Bury) 8, Sabrina Evans (A&T) 6, Bobby Dunphy (Bury) 4.
U-13s: Harry Radford (Bury) 16, Tom Morrissey (A&T) 11, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 9.
U-16s: Michael Preston (Stockport) 16, Max Evans (A&T) 15, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 15, Louis Wright (Stockport) 13, Emily Burgess (A&T) 12, Daniel Mason (Stockport) 11, Erin Corrigan (A&T) 10.
U-19s: Ciaran Collins (A&T) 16, Eryk Motala (Bury) 14.
Referee – Neil Howarth.

Stockport raced to victory in the Division 1 (seniors) match to seal the title for the tenth successive season. Chris Timms made his first appearance in the series, as an Independent rider, and he top scored, losing only to Jake Read in heat 3. There was a close battle for the overall Senior Grand Prix series. Series leader Reece Pollitt was unlucky to finish 3rd in heat 2, behind Kris Ramsden and Ben Higham, after the tapes caught his helmet at the start. Timms beat Pollitt in heat 10 and a win by Higham from grid 4 over Read in heat 12 saw Higham and Pollitt level in the series with one round of races left. Timms gated over Higham in heat 13 to take the race win, leaving Pollitt to clinch the Senior Grand Prix series by winning heat 15 from Read and Adam Watson.

Manchester League Division 1 result (top 5 scorers only count to team totals)
Stockport 57 Bury 29 Astley & Tyldesley 28 Sheffield 16
Seniors: Chris Timms (Independent) 15, Ben Higham (Stockport) 14, Kris Ramsden (Bury) 14, Jake Read (Stockport) 14, Reece Pollitt (A&T) 13, Adam Watson (Sheffield) 11, Michael Preston (Stockport) 10, Louis Wright (Stockport) 10, Steve Harris (A&T) 10, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 9, Tom Bewick (Independent) 9, Adam Taylor (Bury) 8, Eryk Motala (Bury) 7, Max Evans (A&T) 5, Laura Watson (Sheffield) 5.
Referee – Neil Howarth.

Final Manchester League and Grand Prix series standings.
Division 2: Astley & Tyldesley 18, Stockport 10, Bury 8.
Division 1: Stockport 20, Astley & Tyldesley 17, Bury 8, Sheffield 7.
U-10 GP: Duncan Whalley (A&T) 93, Aiden Green (A&T) 87, Tom Dunphy (Bury) 69.
U-13 GP: Tom Morrissey (A&T) 77, Harry Radford (Bury) 73, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 59.
U-16 GP: Michael Preston (Stockport) 83, Max Evans (A&T) 79, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 62.
U-19 GP: Ciaran Collins (A&T) 52, Eryk Motala (Bury) 28.
Senior GP: Reece Pollitt (A&T) 81, Ben Higham (Stockport) 80, Adam Watson (Sheffield) 72.